Hedwig Gavino, Master’s Graduate Intern

Hedwig Gavino, Master’s Graduate Intern

Practicum Student

Supervised by: Selena Tyler, LPC-S

Hello and Welcome! 

Thank you for taking the first step to your therapeutic journey! I am Hedwig Gavino, a current Master’s student and practicum intern here at Deep Eddy Psychotherapy. I hope this page helps you get a better sense of my therapeutic style and determine whether we are a great fit.

My Approach 

Everyone has their own unique story, their own ups and downs, their own how’s and why’s. For me, counseling is a space where you and I can work together to understand all of these seemingly confusing and complicated pieces. You will be heard and listened to. After all, I am not here as an expert who will “fix” you. Instead, I am here to offer a safe and supportive space where we can work alongside together as you heal and face life’s challenges. 

I primarily use approaches that address the relationship between one’s thoughts, emotions, and behaviors while focusing on identifying and utilizing the strengths that they possess. This process is hardly easy and with time, I believe we can create a safe environment where we can process emotions, work on attainable goals, and develop problem solving techniques and coping strategies that best match your strengths and level of comfort. Simply put, we will figure out what works best for you together.

Who I Work Best With 

  • Teens (13+)
  • Young Adults
  • Adults
  • LGBTQ+ Community

What I Work With

  • Anxiety 
  • Depression
  • Self-Esteem/Self-Compassion
  • Coping Skills
  • Sexual Identity
  • Multicultural Issues
  • Relationship Struggles (social, familial, romantic, etc.)
  • Young Adult Life Transitions
  • Career Concerns
  • Trauma

About Me 

I was born and raised in the Philippines. My family and I immigrated to Texas when I was 12 years old and have lived here ever since. Though I have found a place to call home in Texas, I am still and will always be a Filipino at heart. I visit my family back home whenever I can. 

I spent a couple of years in Belton, attended high school and college in Dallas, and earned my B.S. in Psychology with a minor in Neuroscience from The University of Texas at Dallas. I recently moved to Austin for my M.Ed in Counselor Education with an emphasis in Higher Education at The University of Texas at Austin. I briefly worked as a career consultant for undergraduate students at Texas Career Engagement as a part of my practicum experience as well. 

Throughout my life, I have seen and experienced the different multicultural struggles that immigrants can face while trying to adjust and simultaneously live within two cultures. These experiences fueled my desire to help others who may have been in my position years ago. As an immigrant woman of color, I am passionately committed to welcome and affirm individuals of any race/ethnicity, gender, and sexual orientation in my practice. 

When not studying or working, I enjoy hiking, playing the guitar, making coffee, cuddling with my dog and cat, gaming, and spending time with family and friends. 

Thank you for taking the time to read about me. I hope to hear from you soon!